what fate awaits me?

  • Earlier on this year I had the opportunity to spend seventy solo days in an Irish rural location. One day I took my photographer friend to a livestock mart in that area. watching all the sheep get pushed into pens, then sales rings, then large cattle trucks, I began to consider what their eventual fate will be…

    1526_56dd5c24190eb4.19777569-big

    What fate awaits me in co-op mart?

    My sheepish gaze melts many hearts;

    dark droppings, damp urine dribble,

    concrete underfoot, no grass to nibble.

     

    Loudspeaker echo, auctioneer’s voice,

    pushed into pens, I have no choice;

    missed fresh field smell, and open air,

    absent now tender shepherd care…

     

    Push-bundled, trailer cramped,

    crumpled papers signed, stamped,

    transported next to certain slaughter,

    brain bolt aimed, farewell “still water”.

     

    Lamb cutlets now in window displays

    artfully arranged on butchers trays;

    I’m no metaphorical lamb for sin,

    I’m merely meat, sensual sheepskin.

    ___________________________________________

    photos: Dora Kazmierak  https://www.instagram.com/dorakazmierak/

    interview with Dora Kazmierak  www.thatsfarming.com/news/dora-kazmierak

    2870-bw2adsc-9394copyb

    2867-bw2adsc-9405copyb

    2871-bw2adsc-9315copyb

    2869-bw2adsc-9650copyb

  • 2872-bw2adsc-9247copyb
Leave a Reply

