her pencil-plan shows such precision

I approached a community cafe, about displaying some of the photos that Dora Kazmeriak shot, to illustrate my poems. The wall-space curator persuaded me to enlarge the relevant poems to accompany her photos. Dora did all the work, measuring, calculating and hanging the block mounts and poems. She told me how greatly she was influenced by her engineer-trained father.

Her work-ethic and care to get the display mathematically and aesthetically correct left me so grateful, amazed at such scientific skill. In forty years writing poetry, I have never come across such a helpful and ambitious person, in regards to helping me achieve my vision.

1526_56e2008352b2f4.33451097-big

  • Her pencil-plan shows such precision:

    scientific – spatial decisions,

    analytical, critical, measured spacing:

    sweet energy, all-embracing.

     

    Poured-out, feminine passion,

    energy that she refuses to ration;

    hammer, spirit level, under her command:

    brain-blessed, kind creative hands.

     

    My aim: to kick-start hearts,

    she plays a vital part:

    generous, her images enhance:

    curated our happenstance.

     

Leave a Reply

